Cache Memory

unretentive, oblivious

The Supermart

Recently I joined a flash fiction community called FlashXer. I must say that the members in the community are real serious about what they do. I hope I remain loyal to my writing instincts (whatever there are) and contribute and learn as much as I can. I shall be posting my submissions on various cues that the moderator gives to the community members.

This week the cue was :

Pushing her laden grocery cart through the supermarket, she was suddenly aware that she was being shadowed.

My Attempt:

Pushing her laden grocery cart through the supermarket, she was suddenly aware that she was being shadowed.

Emma pulled her handbag up her shoulder. A sciophobic, she tried to convince herself that she was the only customer in the cosmetics aisle. This was not the first time that Emma had an experience like this, she was sure of someone’s presence.

‘Was that someone breathing on my neck??’ Emma was turning pale and while she was blabbering to herself, she tripped over a stack of Halloween merchandise. She wanted to cry.

Emma gathered herself and did not care about the broken heel and hurriedly dragged herself towards the billing lady.

‘Tiffany’, said her name tag.

“Hi Ma’am.”

“Bill this! QUICKLY!!”

“Alright! You don’t look ok ma’am…can I help?”

“JUST PACK IT!!”

“You should stay…let me get you some water.”

“OK”

“Here…”

“Well it happens to many customers.”

“What?”

“Are you new in town?”

“Yes”

“Well you see, this store was built on a 16th century grave yard.”Tiffany gave Emma a sly smile.

4 responses to “The Supermart

  1. Meira February 19, 2010 at 4:17 pm

    Hee hee! The community sounds like fun.

  2. Rohan February 19, 2010 at 4:20 pm

    yes it is…and a great learning place…

  3. Sagar February 21, 2010 at 7:37 pm

    ‘Was that someone breathing on my neck??’
    I thought ventilator line has broken somewher in the aisle.
    😀

Leave a Reply

