Cache Memory

unretentive, oblivious

Seeking

I ran through my office corridors to catch the 1030 PM bus back home. On my way to the stairs and tripped hurting my elbow in the process. I scrambled up and somehow managed to catch the bus.

I boarded and saw the bus jam packed. It was unusual at that hour generally and that too on a Friday…it was a bad day until i spotted a seat. Sitting beside me was a girl who was visibly tense and was on conf call bout her project. I took out a book from my bag that i had been trying to complete for a long time, but just could not read beyond a page…had my own issues in mind. I leaned back on the seat and closed my eyes. Within a few moments i was asleep.

Screeeeeeech!

The bus came to a sudden halt and looked at my watch. Little did i know that the same girl was sleeping on my right shoulder. She was so deep in her slumber that even sudden brakes could not disturb her. I was obviously uncomfortable but let her sleep.

She woke up to continuous honking on the highway. She was profusely apologizing but i kept listening. She told me about the tough time she was having at work. I kept listening. I understood. I really did. A tough day and a sweet encounter with a stranger. The day was balanced…and so were my thoughts.

3 responses to “Seeking

  1. iridescentrica March 22, 2010 at 6:22 am

    really cute! it was like the character was personally telling a friend about the sweet encounter… i could imagine the thrill in his voice and the expression on his face. i like this style. can’t wait to read more…

  2. Sagar March 23, 2010 at 11:36 am

    “She woke up to continuous honking on the highway.”

    Please, tell them the truth, its ur body odor, man , yaak.. 😀

  3. Aditi April 30, 2010 at 12:44 pm

    hey,
    Almost rings of truth… but then i know YOU are the 1st one to go off to sleep on d bus! 🙂

Leave a Reply

